MBACC Announces Additions to the Board of Directors


Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce that eight new board members were ratified at the Sept. 17 meeting of the board of directors.

The following will formally join the chamber’s board of directors in January 2020 and serve a three-year term:

Pablo Chavez, Ripley’s Aquarium & Attractions

Kenny Generette, Horry County Schools

Seth McCoy, Burroughs & Chapin Co.

Samantha Slapnik, Liberty Tax Service

Atiya Stokes-Brown, Coastal Carolina University

Amy Stevens, Tidelands Health

Jory Taylor, Edward Jones

Alicia Thompson, Burr & Forman LLP

“We are pleased to have such a diverse and knowledgeable group of local business people joining the chamber board,” said Karen Riordan, Myrtle Beach Area Chamber president and CEO. “These new members will help us fill key areas needed to continue to grow and strengthen our organization.”

Additionally, the chamber board voted and has elected Steve Mays, of the Founders Group, as incoming board chair for 2020. Mays served as the marketing council chair in 2019 and has been active investor with the chamber of commerce for more than 20 years.